minutes/february_15_2008

Contents


TAB Meeting, February 15, 2008

The minutes of TAB meetings are provided for informational purposes only. Discussions and decisions described in the minutes should not be interpreted as official or definitive TAB or The Linux Foundation policy. While efforts are made to ensure their accuracy and completeness, we regret we cannot guarantee that they are. If you have corrections or additions, please contact tech-board at lists.linux-foundation.org


Agenda

  • LF Fellowship Doc Writer Status.
  • Status of minutes.
  • PCI/USB SIG membership.
  • NDA Programme.
  • Collaboration summit update.
  • OSAPA update.
  • Report from the Board Meeting on 7 Febraury.
  • Any other Business.


Attendees

  • James Bottomley
  • Dan Kohn
  • Randy Dunlap
  • Jim Zemlin
  • Jonathan Corbet
  • Greg Kroah-Hartman
  • Markus Rex


Minutes



Status Doc-fellowship

Ready to go. Jim is currently finalizing the contract and securing more funding.


Minutes

Jim promised more diligent minute taking. James will dig out backlog and offer to the LF for publication.


USB SIG

The lawyers say it is needed to get employer of interested party to sign off
patent agreements as one-off's as USB SIG wants patent sign off.

Discussion followed whether the LF NDA agreement covers such a case. Follow-up will
be done next week to find way that does not involve individual's employers.


PCI SIG

Currently the PCI SIG board is perusing a contract Andy wrote on their request
to allow LF participants access to PCI specification.


NDA program

After a long quiet period Marvel sent James a prototype board, accompanied
by a company-NDA. James asked Marvel to participate in the LF NDA program.
So far no response by them. Dan offered to contact Marvel LF rep for help, if
needed.


Collaboration summit update

Please register if you are attending!

Tere will be a revamp of the Top-10 list, including the request for people
to work on them.

The virtualization group will hold a mini-summit in Austin.
Filesystem and storage will meet end of February in the bay area, and won't meet again in Austin.

There is still room available if any ad-hoc meetings are planned.


OSAPA update

OSAPA will help with funding for documentation writing, and hopes to get
help with tagging in return. Everybody on the call happy with the proposal
by USPTO.


LF Board meeting report

Not a lot happened. The LF is on budget.
James will chair the newly revamped IP/law committee.
HP handed over the FOSS-Bazaar website over to the LF, as well as running
the ASP part of the license/code checker.


Hardware certification program

Dan presented first ideas of the hardware certification program. On the next call will
be a deeper dive with more information, Dan warned the TAB that the LF will
ask for input and feedback.


Request to move meeting

The TAB meeting will be moved to 1st Friday in the month (next meeting is 7th of
March). It will take place also the week prior to the collaboration summit.

Just to remind everyone, the next meeting is 7 March 2008 at

10:00 PST / 11:00 MST / 12:00 CST / 13:00 EST / 19:00 CET