Open Source Networking

LFN Governance

Governance for the The LF Networking Fund (“LFN”) is set forth in the project’s charter, which can be found here. The Governing Board of LFN is responsible for oversight of LFN, with a Technical Advisory Committee (“TAC”) responsible for assisting in the coordination of, and communication among, the various technical efforts supported by LFN.

LFN offers three levels of membership for for-profit entities (Platinum, Gold, and Silver) and an Associate membership level for non-profit organizations. The legal entity for LFN is The Linux Foundation, and membership in The Linux Foundation is required in order to become a member of LFN.

LFN currently supports six technical projects, each of which is organized as a separate series of LF Projects, LLC, as follows:

  • FD.IO Project a Series of LF Projects, LLC
  • ONAP Project a Series of LF Projects, LLC
  • OPNFV Project a Series of LF Projects, LLC
  • PNDA Project a Series of LF Projects, LLC
  • Streaming Networks Analytics System a Series of LF Projects, LLC
  • OpenDaylight Project a Series of LF Projects, LLC

Each supported project is responsible for its own technical oversight, and the TAC fulfills a liaison role as opposed to a prescriptive role. Participation in the supported technical projects is open to anyone, subject to compliance with the technical charters of the projects.

For more information on the technical projects, please see the website for each such project. For more information on LFN, please see this LFN FAQ.

LFN Governing Board

Ahmed Murad

Ahmed Murad is Director, Networking and Telco, at Lenovo. Ahmed currently leads Lenovo’s Data Center Networking and CSP/NFV solutions roadmap and Go to Market initiatives and strategies. Previously, he successfully led ...

Bob Monkman

Bob Monkman is Director, Networking Software Strategy & Ecosystem Programs at Arm. He is part of the Enterprise Segment Marketing Team at ARM, located in San Jose, CA and focused on Enterprise Networking and Software I...

Chris Rice

Chris Rice is Senior Vice President of AT&T Labs. He is responsible for delivering the architecture and design of Domain 2.0, the software-centric AT&T network.

Chris Wright
Red Hat

Chris Wright is Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at Red Hat. Chris leads the Office of the CTO, which is responsible for incubating emerging technologies and developing forward-looking perspectives on ...

Dave Ward
Cisco Systems

Dave Ward is Chief Architect at Cisco Systems, responsible for architectural governance, defining strategy, development of new technology, and leading use-inspired research.

Elsie Wahlig

Elsie Wahlig is a Sr. Director and manager of the Software Product Management team at Qualcomm Datacenter Technologies. In this role, she leads all aspects of QDT software product management – setting our software strate...

Eyal Felstaine

As CTO, Eyal Felstaine is responsible for planning and developing Amdocs’ technology vision, as well as the architecture and roadmap of the entire product portfolio.

Fran Heeran

Fran Heeran is Head of Network Virtualization, SDN and NFV at Vodafone Group. Fran is leading the group-wide, operations-driven, transformation for Network virtualisation, SDN and NFV. Fran has over 20 years’ experience ...

John Zannos

John Zannos is the Chief Revenue Officer at Inocybe Technologies. He has responsibility for execution of the Inocybe open networking strategy, with responsibility for sales & marketing, field engineering, support and s...

Jonne Soininen

Jonne Soininen is Head of Software Industry Initiatives at Nokia. He is based in Helsinki, Finland.

Kasim Oztoprak
Turk Telecom

Dr. Kasim Oztoprak is CEO Advisor in Türk Telekom on Cybersecurity and Emerging Technologies.

Marisa Viveros

Marisa S. Viveros is IBM Vice President, Strategy and Solutions for the Telecommunications, Media, and Entertainment Industry, responsible for devising the role of cognitive computing and cloud platforms for this industry....

Mats Karlsson

Mats Karlsson leads the group within the Ericsson responsible for the network and implementation architecture for all Ericsson products.

Morgan Dollard

Morgan Dollard is the Vice President & General Manager of Contrail at Juniper Networks, where he’s responsible for Juniper Software and Cloud Networking products. Prior to Juniper, Morgan held various roles at Goog...

Peeyush Goyal
Tech Mahindra Americas

Peeyush Goyal leads the Network Services business in the Americas, including global consulting, alliances and solution development, and marketing for Tech Mahindra.

Pere Monclus

As VP and CTO in the Networking and Security Business Unit at VMware, Pere Monclus is defining strategy and leading a networking innovation team. Before that he was the CTO and co-founder of PLUMgrid, acquired by VMware....

Robert Pippert
Reliance Jio

Robert Pippert is VP of Technology Development for wireless and common platforms at Reliance Jio.

Russ White

Russ White has more than twenty-five years’ experience in designing, deploying, breaking, and troubleshooting large scale networks. Across that time, he has co-authored more than forty software patents, presented at ...

Sandra Rivera

Sandra L. Rivera is Corporate Vice President and General Manager of the Network Platforms Group at Intel Corporation.

Sanq Li

Dr. Li currently serves as CTO of Products and Solutions at Huawei. Prior to this, Dr. Li served as CTO at Carrier Network Business Group, IT product line and Core Network product line as well as the president of Data Cent...

Shigeru Okuya

Shigeru Okuya is Senior Vice President of NEC Telecom Carrier Business Unit. Responsible for software and solution business including SDN/NFV and OSS/BSS for telecom industry in the global market. He has been with NEC for ...

Srinivasa Kalapala

Srinivasa (Srini) Kalapala is the Vice President of Technology and Supplier Strategy at Verizon. Srini is responsible for developing next-generation network technology strategies, identifying strategic suppliers to enable ...

Sun Qiong
China Telecom

Sun Qiong has been engaged in IP network technology research, IP network planning and network-related product development of China Telecom for 10 years.

Tamer Shenouda

Tamer Shenouda is Director of Network Transformation at Bell. He leads Bell’s Network 3.0 initiative in the Network organization.

Thomas Di Giacomo

As CTO, Thomas Di Giacomo drives the rapid innovation and growth of SUSE’s expanding portfolio, from the Linux operating system to software-defined solutions such as the OpenStack cloud infrastructure.

Vincent Danno

Vincent Danno is Director of Standards at Orange. His responsibilities include all wireline networks and home networks, as well as the IoT platform.

Woojune Kim
Samsung Electronics

Woojune Kim is currentlySenior Vice President, Head of Products and Business Strategy and Head of North America Sales, Networks Business Unit at Samsung Electronics.

He has worked extensively i...

Yachen Wang

Yachen Wang is the Deputy Director of the Network Technology Department at China Mobile Research Institute and Vice-chair of the ITU-T SG13 IMT-2020/5G working party.

Yuan Yue

Yuan Yue is Director of SDN/NFV Open Source Strategy at ZTE Corporation. He began working in the telecom industry in 2000.